My DWA Journey- Warren Alan Morris

After My son passed away on the 15th June 2013 I spent many months up and down , looking after my partner who was severely ill after our little boy Oliver died , out of work and severely depressed and suffering from bad Anxiety attacks , I couldn’t find help from My Doctors apart from the offer of pills after some searching, on Facebook of all places on the 27/08/2014 I found Daddys With Angels.

After reading the group description I messaged the groups owner Paul Scully-Sloan and soon got a message back asking for some Details of My loss ( This was to stop trolls entering the group ) So I replied back to him and he was very welcoming and added me to the Dads Only Group

 

start of dwa

I don`t quite know what I was expecting to find from a Facebook group , but I wasn’t expecting what I came across. The welcome and support I received was nothing sort of amazing. I was encouraged (Never Forced) to share my feelings and even post non related stuff on the groups. All this was part of learning to deal with something we call “New Normal” , Most importantly I was made to feel that everything that was going through My head was normal

 

Through several months I made some amazing friends through the group , One been a local man by the name of Daniel Deakin , We exchanged phone numbers and spoke on the phone quite a lot , Daniel was good at getting me to talk about my loss , over several months we met up several times and even our family’s met

 

11143450_1589770331264299_2422419458028111598_o

After several months of growing in strength and becoming more at ease I was asked if I would like a trial as admin on the 30/03/2015

 

admin trial

I accepted as I had always wanted to give back to those that helped me so much and made me a stronger person, over the next few months I kind of fell into he position of making graphics for members,putting there story’s into our blogs ,It brings a certain satisfaction making something for someone and them liking it. As a Admin it falls to us to like & comment on members posts, we do this to make sure they know people are there for them and they are not alone.

As time has gone on I have gotten more involved with Daddys With Angels , October 2015 saw me and Daniel Deakin Appear on BBC Radio Newcastle

 

12141597_157688551247392_8374449480454975915_n

A audio Recording can be found here

Myself and Daniel Deakin were over the moon with been invited on the radio, It gave us both the chance to tell our story’s and the story of Daddys With Angels and the amazing support it provides. We got excellent feedback from members for the show and also from the BBC radio presenter. It felt good to be raising more awareness for us Dads that get left by the side.

During My time as a admin I have learned some very valuable things , I am still learning and don’t always get it right , But with the guidance of Paul Scully-Sloan and the other admins I am always been taught new things, And this dose not just extend to the admins Paul has and does work closely with members to ensure they get the extra help if needed. Many of the Admin do alot of one on one work with members also , This ensure that any members who appear to be having a hard time are offered help and often pointed in the direction of external help should it be required.

I am hoping in the future to study for a bereavement counselling qualification in the hope that I can better help our members , I will continue to work my hardest for Daddys With Angels and provide the best support possible based on my experience.

I would like to take the time out to mention a few people who have helped me grow into a stronger person:-

Oliver Morris ( My Angel Son)
Nicole Roberts  ( My Partner)

Paul Scully-Sloan (DWA Owner)
Daniel Deakin & the rest of the Admin Team

Lou Rimmer ( https://www.facebook.com/nationaldayofrememberance/?fref=ts )

And All Angel parents for there continued strength

About Daddys with Angels.

We began as a group for grieving fathers and men in families, but other family members asked to join us. We now also have a group for Families with Angels dads and other male family members and siblings under 18. We have experienced and live with the harsh pain of loss and we hope we can bring other comfort with what we do, To find us please search for us on face book or www.daddyswithangels.org/. Hugs to you all and floaty kisses to all your angels. We retain the name Daddys With Angels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

