My Angel Alaria -Michael Hensley

I became your brother 11 months ago when our daughter Alaira gained her wings as she lay sound asleep on the night of Jan 5 2015.
11698566_1046863515341222_746542392389983737_n

The start to My Nightmare

On December 23rd my wife would take my daughter to the clinic and find out she had H3N2 flu. The clinic sent her home with some meds that we would find out would never work.

A flu so deadly that you will not even know your sick much less a fever. It was a weird year on December 24 th my son called to say he was coming to stay the night which he did.

This was the first time in 2 years I would have all my children together. My daughters were so happy bubba was coming esp ally. We watched movies and went to bed late. Santa came and ally woke me up around 6 am she was always the crack of dawn child. We opened presents and around 12 my son left.

My daughter fell asleep on the couch and my wife laid in bed and took a nap. Around 12:30 pm i went to the kitchen to get some cookies and returned to the living room. As I entered the living room I noticed my daughter having a seizure and snatched her up ran to the bedroom told my wife to get up now. My daughter stopped breathing that day and as I watched my wife completely shut down not even able to continue the conversation with 911 I said move honey and begin mouth to mouth. I saved my daughter and she begin to breathe again. She coughed up white stuff in my mouth and in return I would get sick as well a day later. I really didn’t care for I saved my daughter and I would give her my last breath bc that what Daddys do.

We rushed her to hospital only to get told she has a febrile seizure and they released her after only taking X-rays. I argued with them telling them to do a cat scan but they would not because of the amount of radiation. My wife looked at me and said what if this happens when you are working 1,000 miles away? I said call me I will walk you thru it.

So December 28th I received the news I would leave the 29 th for Pennsylvania to work for a month keep in mind I would be 1,500 miles from home. I told ally I would be leaving and she came and hugged me and said daddy I don’t won’t u to go but I understand I said I love you and kissed her like always and said I see you when I get back.

I had a bad feeling about the trip even before we left to leave that way I told a buddy I got a bad feeling bout this trip something bad is going to happen but I left anyway.

I talked to my daughter every night I was gone.
Me and the wife had talked Jan 2 and was making arrangements for them to come up and see me and so ally could go see New York. She was so exited they would leave Jan 9.

That day would never come because Jan 6 at 5:55 am my wife called me screaming that she was gone so instead of ally coming to New York I would bury her on the exact day she would have came to see me.

To this day the image of our daughter the day she found her is forever stuck in her mind and my youngest daughters as well.
My wife put her hand on our daughters back to wake her that morning bc she was sleeping on her stomach with her head slightly angled to face he T.v she always loved falling asleep while watching it. She knew the instant she placed her hand on her back and as she rolled her over the image would remain in her mind and always come back to haunt her everyday and every second she continues to breathe. My daughters face was smashed down so I would assume she probably passed between 12 am and 1 am.. This image haunts my wife daily.
I was away working in Pennsylvania providing for my family the morning my wife called me screaming.

I fell to my knees screaming as well my whole world shattered and life as we knew it would never be the same again. Alaira changed my life in so many ways now that I look back. She taught her daddy more in the 9 yrs I had her than I could ever teach her. She taught me how to love everyone regardless of beliefs, sexual preferences etc.

It is my pleasure to know each one of you and recognize all of you as brothers. Our Angels soar together as we are left here without them questioning why? What if the why is right here in this room and we were suppose to find each other here?

There is not a day goes by that I don’t miss her and ache for her hugs, kisses and I love you daddy. With this being said I’m honored to call each of you my brother and I’m so grateful for the 9 short years I had with my beautiful loving daughter.

I wouldn’t change anything and I would have her all over again however I would have cherished more time with her knowing what I know now..
About Daddys with Angels.

We began as a group for grieving fathers and men in families, but other family members asked to join us. We now also have a group for Families with Angels dads and other male family members and siblings under 18. We have experienced and live with the harsh pain of loss and we hope we can bring other comfort with what we do, To find us please search for us on face book or www.daddyswithangels.org/. Hugs to you all and floaty kisses to all your angels. We retain the name Daddys With Angels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Angel Alaria -Michael Hensley

  1. Bless your heart. Our Nolan was found the next morning by his younger brother. He was fine when he went to bed. It is a shock that family will never get over. Sending prayers and hugs.

Leave a Reply

