Hunter’s story. Doug N.

My wife and I welcomed our little Hunter Stephen into the world April 4 2015 at CS Mott Childrens Hospital in Ann Arbor Michigan.

He was taken at 36 weeks along. We labeled him our miracle child. Because we were told from the beginning it would be difficult for my wife to get pregnant. But Hunter made it through.

We were told at 20 weeks that Hunter had a problem with his heart. Without getting into too many details. His arteries around his heart were not connected like they should have been and he had several holes that even if he had made it, it would need significant repair once he was born.

Well Hunter was born and at 3 days old Hunter had open heart surgery to repair the issues. He made it through surgery and was doing ok until at one week old his lungs collapsed. They then put him on life support in hopes that giving his heart and and lungs a chance to have a break and heal to give him a fighting chance. After two weeks of support they took him off life support and it had looked like he was getting making some progress.

11059639_10204562945490665_4104472486384572932_n

But his lungs and kidneys took a huge hit with being in support.Hunter had fought for nearly 7 weeks since birth until he couldn’t fight any longer. We were then told he would likely need more surgery and that Hunter may not make it through more surgery. So we my wife and i were given a choice. Either to try and see if surgery would help in giving him a chance or to just keep Hunter comfortable until it was time to say our goodbyes.

After having careful thought and prayers between her and myself. We decided to opt to keep him comfortable. We didn’t want to put Hunter through any more than he had already been through. It wasn’t long after we made our choice that the Lord took our little boy to go and be with Him. Hunter passed on May 21st 2015.

He wrapped up in his mommy’s arms and I holding his little hand until he slipped away.

These last few weeks have been the hardest I’ve ever had to deal with. But somehow by the grace of God I was able to hold it together enough to take care of my wife who is hurting.

But the last few days I cant seem to wrap my head around things. I’ve been angry and upset. I don’t usually get overly emotional but my heart is broken.

My boy isn’t here and i don’t know what to say or do. I miss my son. And I cant get the image out of my head of being right by his side while he passed away.

However in spite of all that happened. We’ve received so much love and support. And i did become a father to a beautiful little boy. And yes I had Hunter for nearly 7 weeks. But it certainly hurts a ton.

And with father’s day coming up. I am sure it will hurt some more.

Anyway this is Hunters story. As short as it may be. He is my little champion. Thank you for your time in reading this.

About Daddys with Angels.

We began as a group for grieving fathers and men in families, but other family members asked to join us. We now also have a group for Families with Angels dads and other male family members and siblings under 18. We have experienced and live with the harsh pain of loss and we hope we can bring other comfort with what we do, To find us please search for us on face book or www.daddyswithangels.org/. Hugs to you all and floaty kisses to all your angels. We retain the name Daddys With Angels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hunter’s story. Doug N.

  1. Michael Funkhouser says:

    I know how you feel Doug. Sophie was born 5-7-2015, and she was taken by God on 8-29-15. I feel your pain. I know your thoughts and feelings. The pain never goes away, but it does get better over time.

Leave a Reply

